I Have A Confession To Make: I Am Biased

img_9100

Journalism is in my heart. It has been my training and profession for a good part of my lifetime.

As a journalist, I always strive to be fair and balanced, but accurate. I expect those in the profession to do the same.

I have many friends and colleagues in the journalism profession and I continue to have the highest regard for them.

But as a private individual, I must confess that I am biased. We all are, no matter which side we’re on.

On my social media accounts and blogs, I have been accused of being a “paid troll” and apologist for Philippine President Rodrigo Duterte. But those who consistently read my writings and posts know that I don’t follow blindly. I have been very clear about things that I am opposed to or not in favor of.

In the past, I have written an open letter to the president, praising him for the significant positive changes that he has instituted since he started his term. But I have also asked him to tone down his rhetoric and to make it absolutely clear that extra judicial killings are not part of his or his administration’s official policy and should be openly investigated.

I have also always been anti-death penalty. I consider it barbaric and I honestly believe it will never be a deterrent to bad elements who are bent on taking away other people’s lives, rights and freedom. So there, I disagree with Duterte on his desire to reinstitute capital punishment in the country.

On the other hand, I have also been very critical of the opposition, especially those who wish to destablize a democratically-constituted government –– one that has the overwhelming support of Filipinos.

But I also give credit when it is due, like when I expressed my full support for the Opposition’s Senator Risa Hontiveros in her proposal to legalize medical marijuana.

And while I was practically born and raised Catholic, and still practice my religion, I have also been very vocal against actions and statements by our Filipino bishops which I consider hypocritical and self-serving.

Yes, I am biased. But I don’t consider myself pro-Duterte. Rather, I am pro-Filipino.

I am biased towards anyone who happens to:
-provide health insurance to seniors at no cost
-provide free medicines and hospitalization to indigents
-provide free housing to victims of natural calamities; release P2 billion in aid within less than 48 hours for earthquake relief
-provide free tuition for students at state colleges and universities
-increase social security benefits for retirees
-provide free food for indigent families
-provide free medicines to drug addicts
-establish rehabilitation facilities for drug addicts
-open the presidential palace to the masses, activists and social media bloggers

-show utmost concern and support for overseas Filipino workers (OFWs)
-assure every Filipino’s freedom of speech, including those who have called him a psychopath.

Yes, I am biased towards anyone who chooses action over empty press statements.

And if by being pro-Filipino and pro-anyone who does all of the above would make me biased, then sure, call me pro-Duterte or even a Duterte apologist. Until I see things going the opposite direction.

Leave a Reply

